Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

New World February 4, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 6:50 pm
Stott Family

Stott Family

My dear friend Laryssa has said that she was brought “kicking and screaming” into the world of blogging, and to that comment I must sound a resounding “Amen!”  Blogging is a new world for me, and right now I am just hoping that the pros will outweigh the cons.

I’ve included our most recent family photo, taken last October.  We owe a huge thanks to Robb’s mom for having these picures done.  They turned out great!

 

The Kids

The Kids

This picture of the kids is one of my all-time favorites.  Ryan is 11 here, Quinn 10, and Brooklyn is 7.  However, I think they look much older.  Maybe it’s just that I remember them when they were little, and I sometimes long for those times.  Where are those pinchable baby-fat cheeks we loved so much?  They are gone forever now.  Within the next few months, Ryan will turn 12, and will leave elementary school forever, in favor of the ever-frightening (to parents, anyway) junior high.  I had a vision this past week, of me, standing on the train tracks, watching the freight train move slowly toward me, it’s bright light shining right in my face, and being completely unable to move out of the way.  My children’s teenage years are that freight train!

 

Brooklyn's Masterpiece

Brooklyn's Masterpiece

I have signed Brooklyn up for an 8-week art class.  For the second night of class, the teacher asked them to bring an item to draw.  Brooklyn chose her Belle figurine that was a souvenir from the Disney on Ice event last year.  She complained through the entire event (and the whole way home!) so I am now happy that the doll can be put to some constructive use!  After a lot of erasing and re-drawing, this was Brooklyn’s final piece.  We were all very impressed with her talent.  It was not a genetic gift from either of her parents!  She just loves to draw, color, cut, paste and write.  I hope we can help her put that love toward some great personal development.

 

5 Responses to “New World”

  1. Becca Says:

    Jen, Welcome!!! So happy you finally joined in. I so enjoy reading your e-mails each week. This is just a different way of doing it right? Brooklyn’s picture is beautiful, as is your family photos. Thanks Aunt Cheryl for getting it done:).

  2. Jen Says:

    Yay! Im glad you decided to join us crazies! Those pictures are so cute! You didn’t need me to take any!

  3. Suze Says:

    Looking good! Maybe someday I’ll jump on the band-wagon also, but for right now I’ll just enjoy everyone elses. This is very cool.

  4. Maren M. Says:

    Welcome to the dark side, Jen… 🙂

  5. Amy Says:

    Hey! Glad you joined us! I, too, was a kicker and screamer, but I don’t regret it!

    PS–I knew it was Belle right away! Good job Brooklyn!


Leave a Reply

