Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Late Christmas Gift February 6, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 4:29 pm

Some benevolent family members gave us cash as a Christmas gift.  Normally, we love this sort of gift.  However, this year, we had a little disagreement about what to use the money for.  Here’s how the disagreement went:

Robb’s argument:

We should get a Blue Ray player.  They are super cool, and the technology is obviously going that direction, so let’s hop on the bandwagon!  Besides, if you need a new computer monitor, I will just get you an old one that my office is throwing away.

Jen’s argument:

If you had to use my monitor every day, you would want a new one too.  And, I’m tired of having the stuff your office is throwing away!  Besides, Blue Ray players are only going to go down in price, so let’s just wait a while.

 

The arguments were about equal in strength, (okay, I’ll admit it… mine was slightly better!)  so the money sat, untouched for weeks.  Yesterday, I decided to pop my head into our local failing electronics store.  They are going out of business and I thought the place looked like it had been looted.  There was not a Blue Ray player to be found.  However, there were cheap monitors a plenty!  So that settled it.

Monitor from 1992
Monitor from 1992
Monitor from 2008

Monitor from 2008

I have included the before and after photos here.  And, yes, 1992 is the year I graduated from high school.  Okay, I’ll admit that I may be exaggerating just a little… the monitor might be from 1995!  Let me just take a moment to mention that I am not the sort that is really concerned about the size of the monitor.  The new one is 19″, and that is fine with me.  I can’t get into spending hundreds of dollars more to get a slightly bigger screen, especially when the bulk of what I do on this computer is e-mail, write Word documents, and choose photos for printing.

 

I think this would be a good opportunity for me to give you a little insight into Robb’s personality.  He is not thrilled that I am making this post.  He has two very compelling reasons.

 

First,

It is a little embarrassing to show pictures of our messy office.  I have cropped out some of the mess, but honestly, I have  secret belief that many of you have papers strewn across your desks, too.  (With the obvious exceptions of my Mom, and my neighbor Jen, both of whom have pristine desks every time I see them!)

Second,

Everyone already knows what a flat-panel monitor looks like.  Touché.

 

3 Responses to “Late Christmas Gift”

  1. Becca Says:

    Sam and I have similar arguments, except he is the one wanting a new monitor every 6 months, I get his hand-me-downs. O.K. maybe not EVERY 6….Maybe 7. 🙂 I’m glad you got your’s.

  2. Jen Says:

    I have a quick follow-up to this story. Robb tells me the monitor is actually from 1994. So I guess I wasn’t exaggerating much after all!

  3. amy Says:

    I have found it nearly impossible to keep our computer desk neat. There are too many people adding their papers to the pile.


Leave a Reply

