Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Baby Blankets March 10, 2009

Filed under: Arts & Crafts,Daily Life — Jen @ 9:18 am
"framed" blankets

"framed" blankets

I finally got around to doing a project I have been wanting to do for some time now.  My mom told me about these receiving blankets that have a framed look.  The back fabric wraps around to make a border for the front side.  I think they are dang cute, and they weren’t too hard to make.

The other IT guy that Robb works with missed work yesterday for the birth of his daughter.  I thought I had better get a gift ready, since I have been known to drop the ball in the past.  I had the fabric in my closet, which was fortunate, so I got right to work.  I decided to practice with the boy blanket first, since I was sure I would be giving the girl blanket away. 

Boy Blanket
Boy Blanket

You have to sew each side separately, matching the centers and sewing from the center out.  The corners took me a couple tries to figure out, since I lost the pattern my mom gave me, and I’m obviously not smart enough to figure it out on my own.  Once I got going, though, it went pretty quickly.  And I love the way they turned out!

I think these are my new favorite sewing project, and I’m sure all my pregnant friends and neighbors will be getting these from now on!  (Sorry, I don’t have detailed instructions and lots of pics of every stage of the project like Maren does.  Honestly, I don’t know where that pregnant girl gets her energy!)
 

2 Responses to “Baby Blankets”

  1. JEN Says:

    Those are way cute! Wish I was having a baby !!! 🙂

  2. Becca Says:

    What cute blankets. I like how the back comes up to the front.


Leave a Reply

