Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

We have worms March 16, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 8:04 pm

dscn1844Some days I don’t know why we ever spent money on toys and movies.  Today was one of those days.  While the Gustafson kids were over for piano lessons, they decided to amuse themselves by digging for worms.  I told them to go nuts in the vegetable garden, and they did.  They got out all of Robb’s garden tools, and they dug some pretty big holes.

I was told they were digging for worms, and they came in for a paper towel to put the worms on.  Before long, they came for a second paper towel, because they had “found so many worms!”  I don’t see how they could possibly avoid them, frankly.  Our yard is the worm mecca.  It’s the worm whaling wall.  It’s the place all worms must make a pilgrimage to at least once in their life.  It’s worm Florida, where all worms go to retire.  It’s the Mexico City of the worm world, population 15 million!!

We have worms
We have worms

Quinn showed off a small sample of the worms they found.  They are still small because it is so early in the spring.  Give it a couple months, and the growth and reproduction rates will both have increased exponentially!

Honestly, I can’t think of a better way for the kids to spend their time.  They really had a blast.  When it was time to clean up, every single one of them wanted to stay and dig some more.  Oh, how I love spring!
 

6 Responses to “We have worms”

  1. Maren M. Says:

    I’m glad you mentioned that they dug in the garden. When I first glanced at the picture I flinched, thinking that they had dug up your back yard! (But that wouldn’t be a problem, right, since you guys are all about lawn care? 🙂

  2. JEN Says:

    Guess that means we do as well! 🙂

  3. Becca Says:

    Have you considered selling them for fishermen? The boys might make some money out of it. Looks fun! For boys anyway:)

  4. Jen Says:

    I don’t think there’s much of a market for that here. Too many worms in everyone’s yard, and not enough fisherman. Plus, you can buy worms at any Walmart! Too bad though… we could make a killing!

  5. Jill Says:

    So jealous!!! It’s so dang cold here I can’t even imagine that worms even know that they can survive in Wyoming! I can’t wait for Summer, I’m even willing to give up spring! Hope yu all are doing great and hope to see you soon.

  6. amy Says:

    I love worms! They have a special place in my heart. Ford ate one or two during his lifetime. I love the smell of Utah rain and enjoyed seeing and playing with earthworms as a child.


Leave a Reply

