Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Holy Waffles, Batman! May 25, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 9:59 am

 

SOME of the leftovers!

SOME of the leftovers!

So, it happened like this:  Brooklyn and I were making waffles for dinner.  (yes, we were desperate… scraping the bottom of the barrel, so to speak!)  Whenever I make waffles, I double the recipe.  This generally gives us a few leftover to pop in the toaster for breakfast the next day. 

On this day, I made the mistake of quadrupling the oil in the recipe, while everything else was doubled.  It wasn’t until I was putting the first batch in the waffle iron that I discovered what had happened.  The only way to save it is to quadruple everything!  So we had a mega-ton of waffles.  This picture isn’t even all of the leftovers.  We ended up with 3 large ziploc bags stuffed full of them.  The kids are so sick of waffles, I’m afraid they will still end up going to waste!!

 

5 Responses to “Holy Waffles, Batman!”

  1. Maren M Says:

    Stick the bags of waffles in the freezer. That’s what I always do! They’ll be good for a couple of months. Then when you’re ready to eat them, stick them in the microwave for about 30 seconds and then in the toaster to crisp them. Yum.

  2. Shanna Says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of food! I’ve heard of freezing waffles before so that may be another option for you.

  3. Jen Says:

    Oh, believe me, we know all about freezing waffles. It’s been a week now, and we’ve used one bag so far. The other two bags are still frozen. The real problem is that I made the mistake of adding chocolate chips to the waffles once, and now my kids think they are basically inedible without them. They don’t know what to do with a plain waffle!

  4. Becca Says:

    Sounds fun! Maybe have some other family members can come over and eat?

  5. velvet Says:

    I always make a bunch and freeze them. The girls eat them like frozen waffles you would buy at the store, but they don’t know they are better for them than the store ones!


Leave a Reply

