Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Plum Jam September 26, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life,Food/ Baking — Jen @ 8:40 pm
Grandma's Plums

Grandma's Plums

I admit it… there are times when I can be cheap.  I blame the Roper side of the family.  So when Grandma Roper mentioned the plums on her tree nearing ripeness, I knew she would understand.

I was fortunate that she let us come pilfer the tree.  The kids had a great time picking plums and eating them.  We came home with a half a rubbermaid tub full.  Oh, and a few apples off her Jonagold tree to put in lunches.

Diced...

Diced...

I diced about 8 cups of plums.  It seemed like it took way longer than it should have.  If only that pit in the middle would come out a little easier, this process would be a lot quicker.

Mashed...

Mashed...

I cooked and mashed the plums down to about 6 cups.  This part went way faster than I expected, and I wasn’t quite prepared for the next step when I got there!

Sealed...

Sealed...

I poured them into jars and set the jars upside-down to “process.”  After about 5 minutes, I righted the jars again, and they sealed beautifully.  I am pretty darn excited about the plum jam.  It looks so pretty in the jars.  And, it tastes FABULOUS on a saltine cracker!!  (The kids and I have been snacking on crackers and the leftover jam from the bottom of the pot for an after-school snack.)

What a fun and yummy project!  🙂

 

One Response to “Plum Jam”

  1. Becca Says:

    Looks yummy. Haven’t tried Plumb jam yet. Hard to do?


Leave a Reply

