Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

A Day in the Life… January 11, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 8:39 am

Gunner and Aunt Jen

I decided to take pictures of my day and do this day-in-the-life post.  As it turned out, it wasn’t a very ordinary day, but I guess that’s okay.

I was watching my nephew Gunner while his siblings had a marathon dentist-orthodontist event happening.  As boring as it is at my house when the kids are at school, it is better than the dentist.  Gunner and I took this self-portrait.  I’m not so great with the aiming when I can’t see what I’m doing.

Snack Time

Later in the morning, I gave Gunner a snack.  I forget what it’s like having a two-year-old in the house.  I handed him the string cheese and he handed it right back to me.  He wanted me to start the strings for him.  So I handed him back the now-strung string cheese tree, and he proceeded to eat it without pulling the strings off at all.

Learning Colors

I tried to entertain Gunner with the Lorax game that had been left sitting on the kitchen counter.  We practiced colors.  After a few minutes of pointing to this color or that, he kind of got the hang of the purple card, but never quite got the orange or green.  I don’t think he was too interested in this activity at all.  Meanwhile, I was doing dishes.

Emptying the Dishwasher

Oh, how I love having a dishwasher.  I hate washing dishes, especially by hand.  There are few things more disgusting than pieces of cheese floating in dishwater.  I can barely stand to put my hands in it.

I did have a few big things to wash, but they weren’t too bad.  This was, by far, the most ordinary part of my day.  And, glad I was to have it behind me.

Car Mania

Gunner pulled out the cars he brought from home and played with them very intently.  The kid loves cars.  He loves the movie “Cars,” and loves playing with his Lightning McQueen and other car characters from the movie.  He was very involved with this project for a good 20 or 30 minutes.  It was kind of fun watching him!

Lunch

Lunch, Lean Cuisine, as usual.  I buy this particular one quite a bit, because it only has 240 calories, with low fat and sugar.  It’s not my favorite flavor, but it is pretty good.  Some of those Lean Cuisine meals are not actually that healthy.

"You're Mean"

And here we are to the part of my day where Gunner spent about 10 minutes saying “You’re mean, Jen.  You’re stupid, Jen.”  He wanted to watch tv, and I told him we should clean up the cars and use the potty first.  He was not thrilled with this answer, as you can see.  I put him on a stool until his little fit was over.  I kept asking him if he was ready to get down, and he kept responding by giving me a really dirty look and saying again, “You’re stupid, Jen.”  It sounds pretty intense, but actually the whole thing was pretty low key.  After a few minutes, I helped him down and helped him put his cars away, and then all was right with the world again.  If only life was that simple with my 12-year old.

Christmas Gift

While Suze was here picking up Gunner, UPS showed up with my new digital scrapbooking software.  Yay!!  I decided to spend my Christmas cash on this, and I was pretty stoked when it arrived.  I was also disappointed that not only did my computer have a problem making it impossible to install this program, but I also had no time to mess with it.  Not that I could have done anything if I had had the time.  Robb ended up spending quite a long time fixing the issue.  Nevertheless, I was happy to have it in my hands!

Dinner

I don’t have a picture of the next part of my day.  I forgot to take the camera with me.  I picked the kids up early from school and took them to the dentist, where the 4 of us got our teeth cleaned and checked.  It always feels good to have that chore behind us, frankly.

On the way home from the dentist, we stopped at the grocery store, where I bought 254 cookies, 6 gallons of milk, and 250 plastic cups for that evening’s fireside.  I pretty much cleaned them out of cookies.  I should have called ahead, but forgot.

We raced home, where I put a frozen lasagna in the oven.  Yes, lunch and dinner both from a box.  I am such an amazing mother.  In my defense, I was in a hurry and the lasagna was on sale.  We had never tried this brand before, and frankly, we found it to be a little tomato-ey.

Cleaning Earrings

Brooklyn dropped her earring in the toilet.  I showed her how to use a grocery bag over her had to retrieve it without getting her hand all dirty.  Then I told her she better use a clorox wipe to clean it off before she put it back in her ear.

We went to karate while the frozen lasagna baked, then we returned home to eat as fast as humanly possible.  Ryan and I rinsed our dishes and headed out the door to the fireside.

Fireside treats

As you can see, the cookies took up a fair amount of space in the back seat of my van.  I had to have Ryan sit next to them and keep them from falling on the floor.  We got to the fireside a little later than I would have liked, and we were racing in with all these cookies, milk, and cups.  The fireside was very good, and I only went home with a few cookies.

Frankly, by the time I got to the end of my day, I was ready to rest.  I hate those days, where you don’t have time to catch your breath in between activities, appointments, and responsibilities.  It seems too many of my days are this way.  I shouldn’t complain, though, because the alternatives seem even worse to me!

 

Leave a Reply

