Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Quinn’s Vocabulary Test – part 2 April 4, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 8:20 am

We had fun reading and hearing comments on Quinn’s vocabulary test.  The words are definitely specific to Quinn’s thought process.  In this post, I will provide the definitions, straight from Quinn’s mouth.  Be prepared.

1: Minotaur – A bull that stands on it’s hind legs and eats human flesh.

And the official definition from dictionary.com:  “a monster, the offspring of Pasiphaë and the Cretan bull, that had the head of a bull on the body of a man: housed in the Cretan Labyrinth, it was fed on human flesh until Theseus, helped by Ariadne, killed it.”

2: Nemesis:  Pretty much just an arch-enemy.

dictionary: “an opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome.”

3. Medusa: A snake-lady with snake hair.  Look into her eyes, and you turn to stone.

Quinn and I have a little disagreement on this one.  Quinn claims she is a snake with snake hair, while I was sure she was a human woman with snake hair.  I looked it up and found that she is half-snake, half-human.  So neither of us are right.  Or both of us.

4: Sai – a 3-pronged weapon for ninjas.

This one I will freely admit I did not know.  Maybe if I had watched a little more “Ninja Turtles” as a kid, I would have.  My knowledge of greek mythology and ninja weaponry are both woefully lacking, obviously!

5: Centaur – Half-man, half-horse.

dictionary: “one of a race of monsters having the head, trunk, and arms of a man, and the body and legs of a horse.”

6: Katana – Ninja sword.

To be correct, let me tell you that this is a samurai sword, and not a ninja sword.  It’s all ninjas to Quinn.  From my History channel knowledge, I can tell you that samurai would not have liked the ninjas.  They would have been considered not honorable.

7: Minions – enemy’s workers.

dictionary: “a servile follower or subordinate of a person in power.”  Quinn tells me that only bad guys have minions.  And judging by the dictionary.com site, it might be true.  On the sidebar, they have recommended searches that go along with what you are looking at.  They were all things like “evil minions” and “Satan’s minions.”  Not a white-hat-wearing minion in sight.

8: Turret – really big guns that are usually on jeeps and tanks.

I know some of you were thinking of a tower on an old castle, similar to the picture on the left here.

But really, what does Quinn care for old buildings and tall towers?  Okay, yes, they are good for stashing the occasional unruly princess, (we don’t actually want any of those around anyway!)  but weapons is where the action is!  He is exactly right in his definition, by the way.  And, it’s another one I’m ashamed to say I did not know.  Usually, these turret guns can swivel 360 degrees, and at least in movies, pilots or drivers are yelling things like “bogie at 9 o’clock!” to the shooter.

9: Tonfas – sticks that have handles on the side, also a ninja weapon.

The kid knows his weapons, I’ll give him that!  He thinks guns are weak… not nearly personal enough, so he is familiar with all kinds of swords, knives, and sticks that require you to be close enough to a person to see the blood spatter on your clothes.

10: Griffin – half-lion, half-eagle.

I think it’s funny that he is so familiar with his greek mythology.  This vast knowledge, by the way, does not come to him as mine came, through seriously boring school study; but instead, his comes from computer games.

Honestly, the thing that prompted me to write this post at all was when I was talking to Quinn in the car one day, and he was telling me how he wanted to make up creatures and heroes.  “Someone made up Odysseus,” he said.  As cool as SpiderMan and Han Solo and Frodo are, the one he was impressed with was the one created by Homer countless centuries ago.

I can’t wait to see how Quinn will use these skills as he continues on with his life.  He spends way too much time on this to let it go to waste.  In any case, I had a lot of fun putting this post together.  I think it was appropriate for my 100th post on this blog.  Didn’t I tell you?  This is post number 101.  No need to send gifts, I’ll be celebrating privately!!  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

