Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

New Year’s Resolutions December 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 12:53 am

These last few months of blogging and e-mail writing have been pathetic at best.  I chalk it up to busyness, but I realize it could just as easily be disinterest or distraction or plain old stress.  In any case, I am disappointed about it.

Recent discussions in the Stott family have centered around Suze’s long lost diary, a recently recovered piece of family history that details the sad and sometimes comical events of their lives.  The re-telling of these stories has brought laughter, tears, disagreements, and all manner of emotions.  We considered whether the stories would be remembered differently had they been told from more than one perspective.  I obviously cannot control whether other family members will record the shared events of our lives, but I can do my part to record those things I deem noteworthy.

Yes, I am a believer in blogging as a means of chronicling one’s life.  I only hope it will survive to do my posterity some good.  That may be the best I can hope for!

They say a goal not written down is not really a goal at all, so here I go.  My goal for 2011 is to add the event of our lives to this blog at least once a week, which will add up to a minimum of 52 entries for the year.  It is my hope that the actual number be over 80, though.  It is my intention to illuminate the hand of the Lord in our lives; to notate not only the facts, but also the feelings; and to be entertaining enough to keep readers from entering a boredom coma.  I’m not sure this is completely specific enough to be a real goal, but it’s what I’m going with.

While I’m at it, I’ll commit a few other resolutions to paper.  Or cyberspace.  ONE: I intend to rededicate myself to prayer, to be sure not to miss a single day.  TWO: I will dedicate myself to a budget, not one of my greatest strengths to be sure.  I will set the budget, review the budget several times a week, and save towards debt repayment.  THREE: I will re-train my mind to make and keep my body lean, and dress accordingly, a goal I have loving labeled “The Get Sexy Initiative.”  FOUR: I will keep the main living areas of the house at at least a minimum standard of cleanliness daily.  I may need physical help or prescription drugs to accomplish this, though.  FIVE: the aforementioned blogging.  This way I have one goal for each finger, and I can count them off to myself nightly, and give myself a score out of 5.  Easy, peasy, lemon squeezy.

I’m extremely uncomfortable with the vast amount of personal information I have shared here, so if you have mocking words to share about this, please do it behind my back!!  To my face, I prefer to hear that everything I do is amazing and wonderfully inspiring, even if it isn’t!   Thanks for your love and support.

 

Leave a Reply

