Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Side Ponytail February 3, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 9:06 am

Asymmetry

Brooklyn has been asking for days for me to do a side ponytail in her hair.  She is super excited about it.  I tried to do something low, so the hair would trail over her shoulder, but that was not what she had in mind.  We ended up with something higher on her head.  I added a brown scrunchie to complete the look.  Don’t get me wrong, she looks adorable, but it made me remember 1984…  not the book, the year.  I think I was about Brooklyn’s age that year.

It reminded me of a time when I was about that age and really big into side ponytails.  I was having a hard time convincing my mom to help me with that project, so one Saturday, I did it myself.  You can imagine how amazing it looked.  I went to play with my cousin, and I was showing off my hairdo to anyone who would pay attention.  Her mom said, “did you do it yourself?”  which was my first hint about how awesome it was.  Oh, those were the days.

There are parts of the 80’s I welcome back… bangles, checkerboards, bright colors.  But I’m still undecided on the side ponytail.

 

Leave a Reply

