Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt February 23, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 10:50 am

Hawaii Three-Oh

My parents recently returned from a trip to Hawaii.  I’m insanely jealous.  While they were gone, it rained and snowed here.  We had sick kids.  We paid bills.  My mom sent me a text message that said, “Eating shrimp on the beach.”  I replied, “I’m eating tuna helper in front of the tv.”

My parents love traveling, and have taken to vacating Utah at least twice a year.  The nice thing about that is that they always bring us awesome souvenirs from their travels.  This time, the boys got Hawaiian shirts.  They totally loved them!  My boys have been wearing them non-stop.

Hula Girls

The girls got these cute beach dresses.  They have also been wearing them non-stop.  It’s hard to convince Brooklyn that it might be a touch cold to wear that outside just yet.

We also taste tested some fun Hawaiian treats.  The sugar cane was not such a hit.  It didn’t taste at all like I expected.  It was fibrous and chewy.  The kids didn’t eat theirs, and I found several lying around the room.  The chocolate covered macadamia nuts, on the other hand, went very quickly!!  We had milk chocolate toffee covered nuts, dark chocolate covered nuts, the available-only-in-Hawaii Macadamia kisses, and some coconut m&m’s.  Each family also got a small can of honey roasted nuts.  This is one time I am thrilled to have a family that doesn’t like nuts!!

The real hit, though, was the family gift of a ukelele.  I was pleasantly surprised at how well Ryan took to it.  Every time I turn around, he is practicing it.  I have a hard time saying no to that activity, but when it gets in the way of homework, what choice to I have?  We have decided to practice up and have a family ukelele jam session soon.  That ought to be entertaining!!

Well, if we can’t take our own trip to Hawaii this year, we are thrilled to get a taste of Hawaii vicariously.  Thanks, Mom and Dad!!

 

Leave a Reply

