Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Second Day of School August 25, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 5:07 pm

 

Second Day of School Pictures

Yeah, I admit it, I’m a day behind. For the first time ever, I actually completely forgot to take first day of school pictures. I don’t know what came over me. But it was probably stress.

I decided to take a second day of school picture instead. The real problem with the second day is that the clothes are just slightly less cute than the first day.

On top of that, I didn’t get to take one of all 3 kids. Quinn leaves first, to catch the bus, and at the time he left, Ryan and Brooklyn were in no condition to get their picture taken. I remember when the kids were very small, how I struggled to get everyone dressed with hair combed and looking decent before we went anywhere. How I longed for the day when they could do it themselves. Now that they can do it themselves, they don’t. I’m still running around telling them to brush teeth and comb hair, and sometimes re-comb the hair or re-brush the teeth when the job was not up to standards. *sigh* Robb says someday we will want all this back in order to have the kids back in the house. Jury is still out on that one.

I dropped Ryan off for his first day of high school and watched him walk in. It’s a new school where he knows no one at all. I had this little moment where I remembered dropping him off at kindergarten… 9 years ago. I had a little twinge of anxiety for him. It turned out to be misplaced, because he had a great first day. He loves his new school, and especially his volleyball, science, and seminary classes.

And last but not least, I anticipate Brooklyn will have a great year too. She lucked out and got to the teacher she wanted, and has a couple friends in her class.

With 3 kids in 3 different schools, it should be a busy year. I also hope each can blossom as individuals and gain some confidence.

 

2 Responses to “Second Day of School”

  1. Maren M. Says:

    Wait wait wait …. even though kids CAN get themselves ready they DON’T?!??! NOOO!! I’m already longing for the day when they can do it themselves, but now I feel like I’ve lost all hope.

    Dang. Well, maybe I’ll just let my kids be the ones with the funky hair and bad breath.

  2. Jen Says:

    My kids HAVE been the ones with funky hair and bad breath, which I said I would never allow. It’s amazing how your priorities change when you are feeling exhausted and homicidal.


Leave a Reply

