Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

The Pianos Are Making Me Cry December 13, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 8:56 am

During our first year of marriage, when we could least afford it, my sweet husband spent $700 buying this old Glen Bros. piano for me, so I could practice for school.  Our 16th anniversary is later this week, and that piano has been with us the whole time.  Robb refinished it.  We’ve moved it three times.  I’ve taught hundreds of piano lessons on it.  Our kids have learned to play and numerous singers have practiced with the lovely strains of this piano.  My piano tuner makes fun of me every time he comes, because it is a hundred years old, and I should have something better for teaching.  He’s right, of course, but it still holds a special place in my heart.  I just love this old piano.

We're a Two-Piano Family

The thing is, I love the new one too.  My great grandmother bought this piano many many years ago, and it has sat, practically unused, in the house next door to my parents for decades.  Growing up, I was told many times that someday that piano would be mine.  I was quite young when Grandma Ruth died, and although I love her to pieces, I actually have only a few memories of her and never really knew her that well.  Grandpa Chuck, on the other hand, I knew much better.  I love him dearly and have many fond memories of him.  I used to visit him every Sunday and we would watch Ripley’s Believe It or Not together.  This piano reminds me of being in his home, and of how generous and kind he always was.  Now that the home they lived in is going to a new owner, the piano gets to come to my home.  I’m grateful to my family for saving it for me, and I feel so fortunate to have it.

In the meantime…  the new piano has had more attention in the first 24 hours in our home than in the previous 24 years.  I’ve literally been begging the kids to NOT play it, because it is so far out of tune it assaults the ears, but it hasn’t stopped them from playing Heart and Soul over, and over… and over.  And, until I can get rid of the old one, we have two pianos in a one-couch room.

 

Leave a Reply

