Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Piano Tuning and Cleaning January 26, 2012

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 4:33 pm

Yes, it seems a little mundain, but it was kind of exciting for me.  The piano tuner actually said, “If this is the most exciting thing happening to you today, I feel bad for you.”  Thanks, John.

Since my piano is used frequently and because I teach on it most days, it is an important piece of equipment in our house.  Also, because it is new to us, I want to be sure this piano is well taken care of.  It has had a bit of a cigarette-smell to it, which has been slowly dissipating over the past weeks.  I noticed it more when the piano was in use than when it was sitting quietly.  The piano tuner offered to take it apart and vacuum it out for me, and I was ecstatic.

Weird to see piano keys on the couch

I thought it might be fun for my kids and my students to see the inside of the piano, so I’m posting a few pics here.  He actually removed all the keys and hammers, and then replaced them before tuning it.  So, here it is:  the glorious innerds of my celestial instrument.

22 of 88 keys

The hollow framework

 

Leave a Reply

