Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Choir Concert March 19, 2012

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 7:40 am

I thought I was going to kill Quinn the day of this concert.  I’m still a little angry about it, which is why it has taken me so long to post about this.  Quinn has been staying after school late every day to practice for the musical.  Consequently, I have very little time to talk to him, and he isn’t particularly dedicated to being sure I know about upcoming events like choir concerts that he is required to attend.

During the afternoon, a neighbor sent me a text message asking me what time the concert was.  I, of course, had not heard of it.  I checked the calendar the school sends in the mail, and it was not listed on there either.  I called the school, and they informed me it was that night, and that it was on the online calendar.  (A pet peeve I won’t even go into here!!)

Needless to say, I was furious with Quinn.  I had plans for a nice dinner, which I thought I could just pull off before karate.  Robb was working late, so I was on my own.  I had to scrap my dinner plans, and rush everyone to get them ready in time.  I dropped Brooklyn at karate, and raced to the choir concert, threatened Quinn with his life if he didn’t leave the concert directly after his group was done singing, and we raced back to karate.

I guess the craziness was all worth it, though.  The dinner was less than fantastic, but we ate, we made it to all our activities, and the choir sounded fabulous.  I am frequently amazed at the excellence of a choir of very young teenagers.  This school really has a fantastic choir director, and my kids have been lucky to work with her.  This year, she had her two periods of mixed choir join together for a couple numbers.  Quinn’s class sang first, (photo above) then the other class joined them (photo below), and then Quinn’s class left and the other class carried on.  For a few minutes, there was one massive choir on stage.

I think Quinn really enjoyed this concert.  He loved the songs they sang, and he did a great job.

By the way, I don’t want to brag or anything, but my kid has now graduated to the back row.  Which I think means he is no longer the shortest kid in class!

 

Leave a Reply

