Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Minecraft July 24, 2012

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 7:00 am

“Minecraft” is apparently the word of the week.  And, by that I mean that it is the single most frequently used word in our house this week.  As in:

“Mom, can we buy Minecraft?”
“Mom, will you help us download Minecraft?”
“Mom, is this a good time to get Minecraft?”
“Mom, we want to play Minecraft!”
“Mom… Minecraft?”

Minecraft… Minecraft… Minecraft.

If I have to hear this word again, someone in this house is going to die.  SO. HELP. ME.

I don’t even get the attraction.  This game is seriously retarded.  It looks like it’s straight out of 1985, and it has a pretty simple objective, and yet it has become kind of a phenomenon.  Here’s a screen shot to give you an idea of what we’re talking about.

So yes, we bought Minecraft.  The boys basically staged a coup… being really good, doing extra chores without being asked, and then reminding me how great they’ve been.  They worked out how to pay for it (themselves, phew!) and transferred the money to my account.  They sat in the office waiting for me to download it.  Then, after I bought it and was told to wait an hour for my account to update, I went to lunch with some friends.  I was treated to no less than THREE phone calls asking me how long I will be.

Ryan: Are you almost done?
Me:  NO.

Quinn:  I’m calling to see when you’ll be home.
Me:  Are you seriously calling for this?!
Quinn: I mean… I’m calling to see if I can make some Kool-Aid.
Me:  Are you seriously calling for this?!

Ryan:  Um, Mom?
Me:  You better be bleeding out your eyes.

It’s worse than Christmas Eve, I swear.

Finally the long wait was over, and they were treated to a Minecraft marathon, which I’m sure they think will be happening daily.  I hope they are prepared for disappointment.

By the way, don’t you just love my IKEA clock?  Robb seriously scored on this Christmas gift.  I think it’s one of my favorite things I own!

 

Leave a comment