Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Some Days Are Better Than Others August 22, 2012

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 10:24 pm

I’ve been working really hard on my food blog.  I’ve been improving my writing and my photography, I’ve been super active on social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Foursquare, Flickr, Klout, and the occasional YouTube and StumbleUpon.  I’ve studied up on good plugins to make the blog run smoother, and how to submit my site map to Google, and how to be sure my rich snippets look good.  I’ve resized my photos so they don’t take up too much space.  I’ve commented on hundreds of other blogs, participated in link parties, submitted to food photo submission sites, and pinned and tweeted my little heart out.

If all this sounds foreign to you, I assure you, you are not alone.  It was foreign to me, too, up until a few months ago.

I was getting frustrated that my blog stats were not looking as good as I wanted.  I basically just look at the daily views, and I look at where all the traffic came from.  I’m kind of obsessive about it, actually.  I have three different stat counting programs on my blog (four if you include QuantCast, which is pretty external and public, and not that accurate, if you ask me).  I look at my stats several times a day.

It’s a good thing I have Robb around to talk me off the ledge, metaphorically speaking.  He asked me to look at monthly stats, and go back about 18 months.  So I typed in January 2011 to August 2012 and this popped up:

And suddenly all was right with the world.

And August isn’t even over yet.

Once my monthly stats become my daily stats, I’ll be in a much better position.  But, until then, I’m happy.  Thanks, Robb.

 

Leave a Reply

