Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Old Stove, Meet New Old Stove October 27, 2012

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 3:21 pm

I’m pretty sure that oven has been sitting there since the house was built… in 1987.  This oven has done it’s job pretty well, I really can’t complain, except on one point… it was not self-cleaning.  Ugh.

The other day, when I put our Sunday dinner in the oven, (meatloaf and baked potatoes, if you must know) the oven’s heating element became white hot and began to spark.  I immediately turned it off, and Robb was rather shocked to see that the heating element had basically broken apart.  Hmm.  Time for a new range.

I have actually been wanting to buy a new range for some time now, but I don’t actually want to spend money on one.  (You mean they’re not free?)  I had a feeling something would come along, and wouldn’t you know it, something did.  I made a comment on Facebook about it, and my brother Andy called me the following day to offer me his.  It seems he has an entire set of appliances in his garage, including fridge, freezer, dishwasher, microwave, and range.  (I’m not sure if that’s for a man cave or a doghouse.  You’ll have to ask him.)

It was a perfect deal for us.  The range is in good shape, definitely an upgrade from what we had, it had the glass top and self-cleaning oven I had been wanting, and the price was definitely right.

Robb and the trusty dolly did the dirty work of getting the old oven out of the kitchen and getting the new one in place.  We, naturally, wasted no time putting it to work.  Quinn made Oreo pudding cookies with a friend the very first day.

I’m sure it will take some getting used to, but it is fun to have a new(-ish) oven in the house.  Now, does anyone have a line on a new-ish garage door?

 

Leave a Reply

