Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

New Appliance Love January 14, 2014

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 8:23 am

The old fridge passed away late last November.

We noticed the fridge was getting warm early into the weekend.  Robb was leaving town early Monday morning for a 10-day business trip to Houston, so he told me to call the appliance repair.  Appliance repair told me it was the compressor, and that it is an $800 repair.

I said, nevermind that, I’ll buy a new fridge.

It wasn’t exactly how I was planning to spend my Christmas money… but that’s life for you.

The fortunate thing is that since it was right after Thanksgiving, there were lots of good Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals that were still going on.  I shopped around a bunch of stores, but honestly had no idea what I was looking for.  Robb was no help at all, with his lack of opinions and his inability to pick up the phone.  He just said he wanted something that didn’t have a lot of electronics, and I said, “Fine with me.”

I ultimately ended up purchasing from Lowes because they could deliver it the following day.  Hallelujah.

fridgecollage1

I pulled all the food out of the fridge and freezer, and sat some of the frozen food on the deck outside, and most of the refrigerated food on the counter.  My kitchen obviously looked and felt amazing.

The poor delivery guys had to work for this one.  They had to remove the railing, take everything off the walls, even take the front door off its hinges in order to get the old fridge out.  Getting the new fridge in was only slightly easier, and only because the doors were not attached.  They got to hang out in my hallway until the fridge was in place.

But the real fun came when they tried to put the new fridge in its spot, only to find it was too small.  In my defense, I measured it several times and so did the delivery guy.  It just turns out that the space is smaller in the front than it is in the back.

I should have known.  Absolutely nothing in this house is square or plumb.

The delivery guys posed these two options for me: return the fridge and get one that will fit or cut down my cabinets.  I really, really didn’t want to return the fridge, so I was thrilled when Robb, in his one minute phone call during my crisis, told me to cut down the cabinet.

fridgecollage2

Also, I wasn’t thrilled, because what do I know about cutting down cabinets?  I really didn’t want to do that job.  Fortunately for me, my dad was nearby and available, and he showed up with his circular saw within an hour.  Between the saw and the sander, we took enough width off to push the fridge in most of the way.  Dad said Robb would have to mess with it himself to do the fine details.

It’s in there pretty tight, but it’s in.

fridge5

The new fridge is a Samsung.  It’s stainless steel with french doors and a pull out bottom freezer.  It does not have a lot of electronics, and since I really didn’t want to spend an extra $500-$600, it doesn’t have the water and ice on the door either.  We’ve actually never had a fridge with water on the door, so it’s not like we’ll miss it.

It is really nice to have something new, something that still works well.  I just hope this one lasts longer than the 13 years our old Kenmore lasted.

 

One Response to “New Appliance Love”

  1. Maren M. Says:

    A) Totally jealous because I hate our fridge and keep wishing it would die; instead all of the appliances I love keep having issues or having to be replaced. Pretty sure the fridge will last me just out of spite. I should write an angry blog post about it.

    B) 13 years seems like a pretty good run for a fridge. We’ve had several Kenmore appliances and have really liked them. Sears is awesome, although they do often make you wait several days to get what you want. Can’t beat Lowe’s and their next day delivery.

    C) 20 years ago when I was 16 years old I’m pretty sure I never would have imagined getting so worked up over major appliances. Something about adulthood turns you into a total nerd. I love it.


Leave a Reply

