Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

“I Hate That I Have to Earn Money This Way” February 23, 2014

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 9:20 am

Quinn said this as he was cleaning the crud off the feet of our kitchen stools.  It’s a disgusting job that we do only about once a year, and I offered him $3 if he would do it.

The thing is, Quinn is highly motivated to get a job.  He has been working really hard to get a job at the karate school, which would be a perfect job for him, but it’s not exactly the sort of thing you just apply for and start work tomorrow.  It’s a process for sure.

So, he decided to get a lifeguard job in the meantime.  Again, not the sort of this he can start work right away.  For this job, he wants me to spend $90 on classes to get certified, classes which he already signed up for, classes which begin in March.  I told him I would have a hard time doing that before he had some… shall we say… debts paid off.  The upshot is, he has to earn $25 before I’ll spend the $90.

Q-cleaning

Which means, he is stuck doing jobs around the house.

It’s a tough life for a kid.

On the bright side, we did hear him say some great things, including:

“Look at me go!”
“I’m so smart!”
And my personal favorite, “This magic eraser really is magic!”

 

One Response to ““I Hate That I Have to Earn Money This Way””

  1. Maren M. Says:

    I have to agree – Magic Erasers ARE magic!


Leave a Reply

