Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Making Music April 1, 2014

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 3:25 pm

I consider spring break to be a practice for the summer break to come.  With that in mind, I created new time limits on the screen time.

With no digital entertainment available, they turned to music making.  We’re pretty sure the ukulele is permanently attached to Ryan’s hands, as much time as he has spent walking around with it.  I don’t play the ukulele at all, so everything he learned, he taught himself.

He has learned two songs, “Over the Rainbow” and “In the Jungle.”  It’s fun to hear him sing these songs, and I’ll admit, I’m kind of proud of how familiar he is with these old classics.

1April14 Ryan2

Brooklyn asked me if she could use my guitar, and naturally, I said yes.  I helped her tune it, and taught her two chords.  She used her two chords to play “Tom Dooley,” “Aloutte,” and “Mary Had a Little Lamb.”

I might have to put that guitar in her hands more often!

1April14 Brooklyn2

Quinn has been on the piano a little more than normal lately.  He is motivated by a new song that he loves, “Atlas” by Coldplay.  I’ve been learning to play it myself, and he heard me working on it, and wanted to learn it too.  The chords for this one are quite difficult, and the counting is awkward to play, but he is undeterred.  He keeps asking questions of me and Ryan, and practicing every time he has a few minutes alone with the piano.

1April14-more Quinn2

Monster was on percussion.  He got some new rawhide bones and really enjoyed chewing loudly on his bone while the kids made music.

1April14-more Monster

We’re nowhere near being ready for a family band… but it’s a start!

 

Leave a Reply

