Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Out With the Old, In With the New January 20, 2015

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 7:56 am

Robb has had this leather coat as long as I have known him.  Which, as you may have read a couple entries ago, is in the neighborhood of 20 years.  He bought it during those lean, post-high-school pre-marriage years.  I think he spent $100 on it, which was a substantial amount of money for him then.

I’ve actually tried and tried to replace this coat for him.  We’ve shopped at several stores for leather coats, but finding one that both suits his style AND fits is something of a super human feat, as it turns out.  Mostly the fitting part.  The coats that come with long enough sleeves and wide enough shoulders are generally made for a man who carries a fair amount more weight than Robb does.  I’m starting to wish I knew where or how to get a leather coat custom made.

20150110_171448b

At any rate, Robb finally decided that regardless of our ability to replace the coat, it was time to say goodbye.  It was time to say goodbye years ago, I know.  This broken collar situation has been going on for a while now, and it has had a safety pin in one cuff as long as I can remember.  It did feel a little weird seeing this long-beloved coat in the garbage.

But, in with the new…

Ryan got this necktie for Christmas, and he and Robb have been experimenting with fun necktie knots.  Robb has long been a fan of the Windsor knot.  It’s the knot he has taught the boys to use, and I love seeing them look so sharp.  We sometimes comment on the large number of men who wear the knot I once learned from my brother’s cub scout book years ago.  I hate that knot, because it is lopsided and makes the tie sit crooked.

Trinity-knot

This year, I’ve been finding them on Sunday mornings with laptops in the bathroom, staring at YouTube videos while awkwardly tying knots I have never seen on a necktie before.  Ryan is quite a fan of this “Trinity Knot.”  It is only mildly complicated to perform correctly.

And it makes him feel super cool, which is the real genius of this knot.

I wonder how long this trend will last?

 

Leave a Reply

