Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

Prom Pictures and Food Pictures April 12, 2015

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 2:46 pm

The last few weeks have been exciting. A lot has been happening here at the Stott house.

The last weekend of March was Prom. Ryan, thankfully, had a choir tuxedo that he could wear to prom, as well as a black bow tie, so we only had to rent the vest. Quinn, on the other hand, talked me into buying him a new suit, on the grounds that it was much needed and that he hasn’t grown in 6 months.

He might be stuck at 5 feet 11.5 inches. Poor kid.

Here are some photos of the big event.

ryan-kylie-promQuinn-Marianne-Prom

I was in California that weekend, and missed the whole affair. I begged for pictures, went on and on about it, told them not to be stingy, and the two you see above are almost the only two I got.  *sigh*  Boys.

Since Quinn doesn’t have a drivers license, and Ryan was with a different group, Robb got to chauffeur Quinn and Marianne around town. The dance was a Rice Eccles Stadium, which is a good 30-40 minute drive, and he met up with a big group of friends at a restaurant near the stadium for dinner. Robb and Brooklyn both dressed up, and they had dinner at a different restaurant on their own, after dropping Quinn and Marianne off.

Brooklyn-dad-date

They had a nice Italian meal, and asked for the oh-so-fancy San Pelligrino sodas to drink. The waiter poured it into wine glasses, and Brooklyn was very impressed and feeling so grown up!  They had a fun time.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch… I spent the weekend in California at a food photography workshop with some blogging friends. I loved the trip and learned a ton!

food-photo-collage-1food-prop-2 food-prop-1

Here I am with my friends in food prop heaven.

I learned a lot about lighting and food styling, and I was pretty proud of a few of the photos I took while I was there.  I’ll put a couple of my favorites here, but if you’re at all interested, I made this little album of just a few of my favorite food photos, several of which were taken during this workshop.

food-workshop-collage-2

And lest we forget, Monster had an exciting weekend too, though I’m not sure he noticed it. Robb built this totally amazing doghouse for him, which has been finished for a while, but now that it’s spring, Robb finally took it out of the garage and put it in place in the backyard.

monster-dog-house

I personally think it’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. The dog really couldn’t care less. He has no intention of spending any time in there at all. We figure some stray cat will probably have babies in there at some point, so we have that to look forward to. Maybe when it gets hot, he will learn to love it in there.

Or maybe we’ll just bribe him with cheese to go in there so we can take his picture and make everyone think he uses it. That’s far more likely.

At any rate, it will probably be a while before we have a weekend this exciting again!

 

 

Leave a Reply

