Stott Sphere

The entire world in one small home.

That New Car Smell April 12, 2015

Filed under: Daily Life — Jen @ 7:01 pm

There are two new cars at our house. It’s been a very exciting transition.

I have been getting sick of my old Jeep for quite a while now. The needed repairs (and associated costs) were piling up, and the odometer was on the verge of breaking 200,000 miles, and I was starting to wonder how long we could survive before the car became a literal death trap.  Robb, naturally, thinks I’m being overdramatic, although he was sympathetic to my desire to not spend any more money fixing that old car.

I went online and started searching for cars, just to see how much I would need to save to get the car I wanted, when a sweet deal caught my eye. I decided to check it out, and just buy it now before someone else did. And that’s how I came home with a gold 2005 Kia Sorento. It’s not exactly low miles, and it’s not without it’s history, but all in all, it is in much better shape than the old Grand Cherokee was, and it’s nice and easy to drive, so I can’t complain. I’m calling her Golde, and insisting everyone remove their belongings and trash from the car each and every time they get out of it.

Ryan-new-car

Ryan followed in my footsteps almost immediately, when he was offered (my brother) Andy’s old 99 Hyundai Elantra. Andy and his family are moving to Florida soon, and they did not intend to take the Hyundai with them. Ryan spent about half his life savings on it, and is really enjoying the associated freedom.

He is doing things like taking himself to McDonald’s during his lunch break, and going to movies with his friends after school, and driving around the corner to the neighbors house, which literally saves him about 3 minutes of walking time.

I can’t complain, though, because he also does a fair amount of my chauffeuring, with very little dissent. The biggest question on our minds now, besides how he’s going to afford his new monthly car insurance bill, is what to name the car. I suggested we keep the nickname “The Work Truck,” which was such an apt name when Andy was driving it. He always kept his tools, golf clubs, and random things like sprinkler parts and pipes in the trunk. Ryan thought about calling it “The Ex-Wife,” since the car left Andy and came to him. We’re still toying around with the possibilities, and we’re open to suggestions.

Hint hint.

 

Leave a Reply

